Decisions

Well the little guy has just finished his 2nd day of “school”. I will admit, after weeks of tears, it wasn’t as horrible dropping him off as I had expected. It was, however, difficult picking him up. Walking in that room, I hated knowing that I had left him with complete strangers all day. As we all know, no one will ever take care of your child as well as you, the parent….especially when there are several other children that are vying for their attention. I was warned that it will likely take a week or two for him to get adjusted to the noise and other distractions and until that point, he may not nap well.

I will admit, we have been spoiled the past few months having my sister in law watching him. With no other responsibilities, she was dedicated to my son and she did a great job working with me to keep lucas on a schedule based on my wishes. Whenever she had questions she would call or text. It brought me such peace of mind knowing that she had my sons best interest at heart. I have worked VERY hard when it comes to his sleeping. If you know me, you will know that his sleeping schedule comes first. I believe that as his parent, it is my responsibility to ensure that he gets the best sleep that he can. That means, I plan all my outings around his nap times so that he does not get sub par sleep in his car seat while running errands. I make sure that he sleeps in his crib for every nap and his 6:30 bedtime is strictly adhered to.

Now, as I picked up my sweet boy yesterday at school, it came as no surprise that he did not sleep great, but he did get almost 1 1/2 hrs throughout the day which is not too awful. However, when I walked in with the lights out, he was right there in his swing. He seemed so out of it b/c I’m sure he was exhausted after such a big day in a strange environment. His teachers told me that he was fussy when they put him in his crib and only took a 25-30 min nap in the morning. In the afternoon, however he would not sleep so they put him in a swing. He slept about 25 min in that and then remained content and somewhat sleepy so they left him in it. (Let me add that Lucas has NEVER wanted to stay in his swing for more than 20 min and certainly would not nap in it so this shocked me a bit.

Now, today, I went to pick him up and saw him on a play mat playing with his teacher and another baby. They said he did so great and that he slept for almost 2 1/2 hrs!!!! Wow how awesome is that…. And then she continued to tell me that he slept that long nap in a swing.STOP. I almost choked and am getting teary eyed thinking about it. Not sure why. First off, I have worked so hard to prevent him from developing bad habits like sleeping in places other than his crib. Second, I just hate the thought of him sleeping sitting up. However, he slept for almost 2 1/2 hrs. I’m completely at a loss for how I should feel about this. I mean on one hand he had a great nap and was so beyond happy when I walked in and picked him up. He was all smiles and jumping in his lap it just made my heart melt. On the other hand, that sleep was not in his/a crib.

So, Moms and Dads, I’m asking for your advice here. Do I go talk to his teachers and ask that they try harder to get him to sleep in his crib even if it means he cries a bit and may get less sleep at least at first until he gets used to his new surroundings? Or do I keep my mouth closed and allow him to sleep where he sleeps even if that means its not his crib?

I know they cannot spend the one on one time focused on getting him to sleep in his crib since he is not the only baby there, but I just hope they don’t quickly pass him off to a swing to keep him quiet (which might I remind you, in his almost 6 months of life, he has NEVER been content for that long unless he was being held or lying down and sleeping in his crib. So I struggle with how he has suddenly taken to sleeping in a swing.

I look forward to your thoughts,

A distressed mom

Tagged with:
Posted in Parenting
2 comments on “Decisions
  1. Katy says:

    Sleep is sleep. If he was sleeping for 2 1/2 hours he was obviously comfy and in a deep sleep. I bet he was so tired from not sleeping the day before he would have napped anywhere. Don’t worry about it.

    I can see this situations from both sides because I’m a Mom and a former teacher. The Mom in me would want to tell the teachers to try to do it MY way because I’m his Mom and I know how he likes it and I want it done MY way.

    But if you said something to the teacher about trying harder to get him to sleep in the crib the teacher in me would think this……. “That lady is crazy. This is my job and I’m doing a great job because he’s sleeping. Isn’t that what we all want.?? A sleeping baby so he can be happy.”

    Do you see where I’m coming from (as the teacher).

    I would hold off and see how the next week or so pans out.

    I’m praying for you! I know it must be hard to leave him, but I’m sure it will get easier and easier the more he gets used to going.

  2. Jennifer says:

    Hi Christina,

    This is Jennifer from KPMG. Here’s my advice because I was in this same situation. Almost exactly. Here’s my quick story and I will tell you what I did…

    I originally had my daughter in a daycare that was cheaper then her current daycare. Not that it should matter but sometimes you get what you pay for too. I would drop her off and they would put her in the swing and then I would come to pick her up and she would be in the swing again. They had a lot of swings too which concerned me. After crying about it for a week, I sent her to the daycare she goes to now and it was best decision I ever made.

    Per a sleep expert book I read, sleep is not just sleep. Babies should have “non movement” sleep (i.e. not car seat, no swing) in order to get proper rest. My current daycare occasionally would put her in the swing for 20 minutes or so after a feeding and then would move her to the crib until she was able to fall asleep on her own in the crib. And yes they can’t always old each one to sleep but they make sure that they don’t just leave them there to sleep. I think it’s a law that a baby in daycare must be moved from a swing sleeping with 30 minutes or something. At least my daycare said they are required to move them to a crib after 20-30 mins or so. They usually only used the swing as a “seat” so they could get all the babies fed if they were all hungry at the same time. It wasn’t a substitution to holding her.

    Honestly, if you have any doubt in your mind, you should find another daycare. I mean, no daycare will ever be mommy and daddy but they can make new good habits for your son. The place my daughter goes to is not far from your job I think so if you want any information let me know. Almost all the ladies are mom’s of kids in there teens and up so it’s very motherly there. I loved loved my daughter’s infant teachers. It was the best thing I ever did.

    Go with your instinct. You can try to talk to the daycare but they have obviously been doing this with all the babies and think it’s ok. If you pray about, God will lead you in the right direction.

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 166 other followers

link
link
link
Blogs I Follow
Archives
Everything Boys Need to Know

A colorful primer on the realities of life presented by an eager, flawed, profanity-laden mother.

IHeart Organizing

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

Confessions of a Homeschooler

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

Dallas Moms Blog

a resource for Dallas Moms

Green Plate Rule

Making healthy meals simple and fun for the whole family.

Lovely Little Snippets

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

Pearls, Handcuffs, and Happy Hour

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

The Lucky Ten Percent

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

Team Lundgren Times

the baby steps, the daring leaps, the wipe-outs, the "graceful" recoveries, and the very many steps inbetween...

Pratt Blessings

the adventures and trials of our party of five life

Davis Family: A Lewsterd Says Cock-a-doodle-doo

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

The Little Things

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

The Uncluttered Soul

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Skinnytaste

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

