6 Months Old

Dear Lucas,

You are SIX months old today!!

Stats:
Height – 25 3 /4 inches (25th percentile)
Weight – 14 lbs 9 oz (10th percentile)
Head Circumference – 16 1/2 (10th percentile)

Food:
You currently eat 5-6 times/ day. 7a, 10a, 1p, 4p, 6:30p, and 4:30a (sometimes you are gracious to skip this feeding) I have been at work now a little over 3 months. Fortunately I am still able to nurse you exclusively. I am able to nurse right before I leave for work, you take 3 bottles during the day(which I pumped the day before) and you nurse again right before bedtime and then sometimes you wake up around 4-4:30 which is a killer since I have to be up at 5am anyway. We introduced you to rice cereal on Christmas Day. You were a bit tired so I was a little worried you wouldn’t like it, but you LOVED it. I was a bit apprehensive about starting you on solids, but you were amazing. Since it was your first experience with a solid, i made it very soupy. You weren’t phased . You just slurped it right off the spoon. We continued to give you rice or oatmeal every evening. I didn’t want to add additional solids until you turned 6 months , but in preparation for the big day, I started making your food and freeze it. So, on your 6 month birthday, you got to try sweet potatoes and you loved those two. I am excited about this new phase of your life, but also a little sad. You are growing up so quickly and I’m just not ready for you to leave the baby stage behind, but in the same breath I am incredibly excited for what the future has in store.

Clothes:
You are definitely wearing size 6 mos, but you are still wearing some size 0-3 months and are pretty much wearing anything that is 3 months or 3-6 months.

Diapers:
You are wearing size 2 diapers full time, day and night.

Milestones:
You continue to be more alert each and every day. You are getting closer and closer to being able to sit up. i make sure to sit with you on the floor once or twice/ day and play. You tend to “list” a little to the left, but you’re slowly gaining your balance.

You celebrated your First Christmas this past month. I know you didn’t really know what was going on, but it was such an exciting holiday. I am already starting to come up with ideas for family traditions for next Christmas. I can’t wait to share in the magic of this Holiday with you.

Your Aunt Carrie stopped watching you this month and you started going to school on January 2nd. I was dreading this day more than you will ever know, but I spoke to several friends who have their babies in school and I felt I was as prepared as I’ll ever be. It was pretty hard driving you on your first day. I kept telling you on the way there that it was going to be fun and was the best thing for you. I cried a bit on the way home, but overall handled it a bit better than expected. I worked at home that first week just in case something happened and I could be there to pick you up and by the 2nd day I was sitting at my computer and realized the house was so quiet. I had NEVER been home without you. I immediately started crying. It has taken a couple of weeks, but I have become much more comfortable leaving you there. I don’t LOVE it, but I know the interaction and distraction of your surroundings is good for you. Your teachers really like you and have gotten to know your schedule pretty well. I hope you like going, and please know that my FAVORITE/hardest part of my day it going to pick you up. I can’t wait to get to you each day, but I dread seeing you there knowing you have been with strangers.

You have started talking this month and to my delight your first words are “Ma Ma” I know you don’t know what it means, but you say it whenever I go into your room to get you. It puts the biggest smile on my face.

Sleeping:
You are still a pretty good sleeper. I put you down around 6:30-7:00 and you sleep until 7am. There were a couple of times where you woke up in the middle of the night and after picking you up and trying to comfort you, I realized that you just needed to be able to soothe yourself to sleep so i just you back in your crib and let you cry. After about 5 minutes you were asleep again.

I want you to know what a joy it is to have you in our lives. I’m still surprised when I see myself holding you in a mirror. Your dad and I both feel so blessed and couldn’t imagine life without you.

Posted in Watch Me Grow

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 166 other followers

link
link
link
Blogs I Follow
Archives
Everything Boys Need to Know

A colorful primer on the realities of life presented by an eager, flawed, profanity-laden mother.

IHeart Organizing

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

Confessions of a Homeschooler

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

Dallas Moms Blog

a resource for Dallas Moms

Green Plate Rule

Making healthy meals simple and fun for the whole family.

Lovely Little Snippets

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

Pearls, Handcuffs, and Happy Hour

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

The Lucky Ten Percent

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

Team Lundgren Times

the baby steps, the daring leaps, the wipe-outs, the "graceful" recoveries, and the very many steps inbetween...

Pratt Blessings

the adventures and trials of our party of five life

Davis Family: A Lewsterd Says Cock-a-doodle-doo

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

The Little Things

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

The Uncluttered Soul

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Skinnytaste

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

