I’m A Mommy, Now What?

Any parent will tell you that bringing a child into this world is the most amazing thing you will ever experience. From pregnancy, to birth, to raising your child, you will experience ups and downs, but nothing could ever take away from the amount of love you have for them. It truly is indescribable. Having been a parent for 7 months now, I am by no means an expert, but I have learned A LOT, and am excited to continue this learning process, that is being a parent.

Looking back to when I was pregnant, I had many questions, what kind/size/brand of diapers will I need, clothes, brand of bottles, what kind of car seat, how many sheets should I have on hand, what should I register for, what should I pack for the hospital, and the list goes on. I asked around and used ideas from baby websites. Besides these questions, there were things I did not know that I needed to know: from putting your baby on a schedule to sleep training, etc… Now, there is no doubt that the foundation of raising a child is knowing when to feed, change, and put your baby to sleep. And there are many theories/practices as well as critics out there that have something to say about sleep training and scheduling, etc… Don’t get me wrong, I knew that I would need to put my child on a schedule at some point, but I also knew that I could just wing it and everything would turn out…which is very possible. Either way, I have learned so many things along the way. Some things I wish I had been prepared for, either from word of mouth or from reading (I did not read a thing about new born parenting before my son was born), but then again it is likely that nothing would have meant a thing until I held my son in my arms.

Both my sister in law and college roommate are about to have their first borns (both boys…YAY!!!) so I have found myself fielding questions from both of them which I have felt privileged and excited to provide my thoughts on. This really got me thinking, that what an opportunity it would be for me to put my thoughts into writing and share with others. I can’t tell you how much I would have loved to have a single resource to go to for many of my questions. I have been very lucky that my sister has 3 children (1 newborn) who has been an awesome resource to me. And actually, I have a friend who I stumbled across in the blog world and who ended up in the same childbirth class with me (CRAZY) who had her son 1 month before I had mine. She has been a great resource to go to since she has always been 1 step ahead. In light of this, I have decided to dedicate a page or two to my experiences as a mom. In my blogs I hope to provide insight into things/ products I have liked/disliked, experiences I have had , etc…

*Just a side note, that none of my entries will give medical advice. Instead they will be a tale of my experiences and preferences outlining what has/ has not worked for me. Hopefully, someone will find them useful and/or entertaining J

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in All Things Baby
One comment on “I’m A Mommy, Now What?
  1. Katy says:

    Glad I can be a help. I do the same thing with a few of my friends that are just a few steps ahead of me!!

Leave a Reply

Follow on Bloglovin

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 166 other followers

link
link
link
Blogs I Follow
Archives
Everything Boys Need to Know

A colorful primer on the realities of life presented by an eager, flawed, profanity-laden mother.

IHeart Organizing

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

Confessions of a Homeschooler

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

Dallas Moms Blog

a resource for Dallas Moms

Green Plate Rule

Making healthy meals simple and fun for the whole family.

Lovely Little Snippets

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

Pearls, Handcuffs, and Happy Hour

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

domestic diva, M.D.

my mother raised the perfect housewife...then I went to med school

The Lucky Ten Percent

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

Team Lundgren Times

the baby steps, the daring leaps, the wipe-outs, the "graceful" recoveries, and the very many steps inbetween...

Pratt Blessings

the adventures and trials of our party of five life

Davis Family: A Lewsterd Says Cock-a-doodle-doo

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

The Little Things

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

The Uncluttered Soul

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Skinnytaste

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

"Enlightenment is the window into the uncluttered soul"

